5 speed 265 transmission issue OD version

pickman

Site Donor $
Reaction score
I found an issue with the 5 speed. 3rd gear will not engage at speed (works fine on the bench) apparently this was overlooked. While shifting into 3rd the gear grinds and refuses to engage (only third all other are fine). Not being a tranny expert I would guess it is a synchro? Are there still spare parts available?

Any advice from the forum?

JFENG

Site Donor
Reaction score
If it goes into gear fine when you double clutch (and match revs), it’s a synchro problem

Gransin

Site Donor
Reaction score
I had to bend my shifter in a press to avoid it hitting the console when I installed my 265, in my case it was a definitive hit, not just slightly.
But if it works on the bench, bending the shifter is probably the easiest thing to try first if it's touching the console.

Last edited:

JFENG

Site Donor
Reaction score
How does Shifter interference will cause it to grind when going into gear?
I could see it causing partial engagement and popping out of gear.

stphers

Reaction score
Testing on the bench won't really tell you anything about the synchros. All that tells you is that the selector shafts, the different gear sleeves are moving ok back and forth into each gear If at that time, it balks going into gear, there is more problems than just synchros But everyone is right about having the gearshift lever able to go into each gear without any interference with the console or shift tower

Thanks, Rick

pickman

Site Donor $
Reaction score
It only slightly hit the counsel as I was pushing so hard to get it into gear. It feels like its in gear when the clutch is depressed when clutch pedal is up it grinds and will not go in gear. All other gears once shifted go in gear and stay.

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Have you checked for the linkage hitting anything underneath in the tunnel or tower support area? Loose tower support doohickies? Proper shift linkage components?

pickman