carbs and a couple of ?s

bimmerboy73

Reaction score
Just a few pics of the redecorating going on in the engine bay of my coupe. Picked up the carbs a few weeks ago and figured i'd give it a go and see if i could handle it alone. So far so good. Also sprayed the valve cover while i was at it. I'm thinking about machining the raised lettering stripes and emblem... anyone have any experience with this?

question for those with triples... is it recommended to keep the vac adv. & retard? My manifold had a tap that i was using for the brake vac line so i rigged up a tee with an additional barb for the distributor advance but am not sure if its ok to pull them from the same tap or not (thinking not...). If it is, and i wanted to keep the vac. adv and retard, could i add the retard line to the same tap or would it have to be separated? I know thats probably a stupid question, but i'm new to the carb life so please forgive...

Also... anyone have a source for the foam/rubber firewall padding? mine is exceptionally cruddy...

Before...
918ced397ba923a930a08962854dd049.jpg

60258a5728d7ad5a968039a784bb7485.jpg

After...
1026624eb0dd043b48353d6eac5bf5e3.jpg

877a45d1f807441fbd9881fc8650e3d0.jpg

df32bddce401df0cd052b6d652a27b09.jpg

d95229abd22680b4d38ae24676054997.jpg

28ef10d71f0f5495877a26fea9d10621.jpg

de coupe

Reaction score
nice job on plumbing

Nice job on the plumbing, Water inlet outlet welded up nice. What are you using as far as a fuel delivery. Just took the Webbers I did have off "on sale now" Think of going with the EFI unit that they have, but $4000 later I wll be explaning to the wife. Dont realy want to cross that bridge May be I can say one coil per cyclinder is for her benifit .....

gazzol

Reaction score