"Nigerian" coupe ad on CL

twistinglane

Site Donor
Reaction score
Here is a Craigslist ad for a 72 CSI asking $12k.
http://honolulu.craigslist.org/big/cto/4602535049.html
Pictures of a very pretty blue car attached.
Maybe sounds too good, right? Well here is reply I received:

"I am a pilot, at an European air charter service company and i am currently not in US.
Anyway, i already arranged with a shipping company that can compensate my absence so we could conclude this sell as soon as possible.
The title is on my name, already signed, ready to be registered by the next owner."

Classic, not quite English, scam language... So the popularity of E9s is spreading in a new realm.

Peter Coomaraswamy

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
The next thing we'll hear is some Indian guy telling us that the IRS wants us to sign over the titles to our cars and meet them in the parking lot of Walmart and they'll forgive the millions of dollars we owe them in back taxes.

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
yes, it was for sale in an ebay listing ... as i remember. maybe that's where the pix came from.

dang

Administrator
Site Donor
Reaction score
My business partner and I had a Nigerian guy interested in buying a bunch of collision parts from us in bulk. We said, "sure thing, cash only". Over about the next three months he spent about $15k with us, cash. ;-)

Since he's legitimate, he HATES dealing with the "Nigerian" thing all the time.

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score