the "L" light

eso

Reaction score
Hey everyone im new in the e9 car scene. I just got my 72 cs about a month ago. It runs great, but the other night I parked it and the "L" light stayed on with the car off. I went and did some research and found that this is a light for the alternator. I thought that it was strange because it turns off when the car is running. Anyways went out in the morning and it had drained the batt. Im not sure what is going on but now the electric fan is always running when the car is on, it only ran when the motor was getting hot before. The L light continues to stay on, could it be a relay with the fan? Thanks

Arde

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
The red alternator light should only come on when the ignition is on. It is normal for the light to turn off when the alternator is running, the strange part is that comes on with the ignition off.
Do any other systems come on with the ignition off?

Not sure if the electric fan is related to that, do you have AC? Is the AC switch off?

Arde

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
eso said:
no other systems are on when the car is off. I have ac but the switch is off.

Wow, where are you located? I'd love to look at the wiring on that car. You may need an exorcist more than an electrician.

K D

Reaction score
L Light

I would suggest you have your alternator looked at. You probable have a short circuit in the diode area.
K D

Honolulu

Reaction score
hmmm

this is an odd one!

When you say "the electric fan stays on" is that the fan in the center console, or something else?

cpeavey

Reaction score
Is this the aux fan in front of the radiator & AC condenser? If so, maybe the thermostatic switch in the radiator (IF you have one of those) is malfunctioning to always on, and IF your fan is wired to bypass the ignition switch, or your ignition switch is going out, it could keep running after you shut down...

Charlie P.

eso

Reaction score