Vintage CSL Race Car Resto

lafngrvy

Site Donor $
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, but a long time BMW/E9 fan.

Currently I own a CSL that has been raced on and off since the early 90's (a fairly notorious car, by all accounts, but that story will have to wait for another day). I purchased it this past winter and have raced it a few times this summer to get some seat time and evaluate the car. We have been plagued with a bunch of garage rot problems- gaskets and seals, electrical stuff, etc., and so I have decided to park the car for the rest of the summer and begin planning and executing a complete restoration of the car.

I will be needing a lot of help along the way. I have decided to replicate a Gr. 2 car from the day and am currently considering either the Schnitzer silver/red Motul car, or the Alpina Lumintas yellow/black car from the early 70's.

To date I have purchased a correct Motorsport steering wheel, fiberglass dash and console box, and the correct ATE breakers. I am working on the fiberglass inner door panels, and the correct fenders.

Below is a picture of my car as it is now, as well as the two cars I am considering.

I look forward to getting to know the members of this forum as I work through this project. From what I have read so far, this group is very knowledgeable as well as welcoming.

Thanks,
Steve

Attachments

• CSL@RoseCup_09.jpg
    CSL@RoseCup_09.jpg
    30 KB · Views: 349
  • Alpina-yellow_blk_1.jpg
    Alpina-yellow_blk_1.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 316
  • silver_orange-CSL.jpg
    silver_orange-CSL.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 300

timt

Reaction score