1970 BMW 2800CS - $12500 - Minimal Rust - Project - Pomona

Reaction score
1970 BMW 2800 CS

VIN 2204570 Originally delivered to Switzerland. This is a Euro car. I bought this car as a shell in 2001. Someone had started a body restoration and judging from the undercoating, they did a fantastic job. The car is very dry, even for a California car. I then bought a rusty California 3.0CS. After taking all of the decent parts, I began to ‘restore’ this car.

I am selling this car because I lost my storage lease and I have nowhere to move it. If you purchase the car, it must be moved by July 31st.

DRIVE TRAIN

I found a good motor from a 1985 535i and swapped it in. A proper flywheel is installed. It has the reference sender for the Motronic Basic fuel injection. I believe I re-surfaced the flywheel before installing it. A stock clutch and pressure plate was installed. I have a new clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder ready to install in the car.

The transmission is the much coveted 265 and it is equipped with a speedo sensor. The bellhousing is for the Motronic system. I do not have the reference sender cables for the Motronic system. I was actually intending to go with the Motronic 1.3 system which does not use the bellhousing sensors.

I do not have a speedometer cable to include with the car. I believe that the proper cable is one from a later automatic. The driveshaft was shortened by a shop to fit the car. I did not have the driveshaft balanced before installation.

The differential is a 3.45 open and the car really demands a 3.25 open or limited slip. The previous owner apparently cleaned it up before installing it.

SUSPENSION

Struts, tie rods and front axle all appear to be intact and undamaged. Note the undercoating in the fender wells. The previous owner did a lot work to protect the body from rust. The front strut inserts are Bilsteins, I believe. The rear struts are a pair of used Koni’s and I am not sure if they are good.