$330k CSL at Bonhams yesterday

BMW Pete

Site Donor
Reaction score
http://www.bonhams.com/auctions/23945/lot/40/?category=list&length=100&page=1

Phone was dead, so no clear pictures, sorry. Sadly a car with a flat strip of metal roughly 1.5 inches wide, in the engine bay all the way down where the seams meet at top of fenders, literally on top of everything, cant begin to imagine whats under it.

You can blow up the Bonhams pictures and see it

I wish the new owner well as its a real Bat, but some serious remedial work needed.

Pete

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
Hopefully you picked up a souvenir while you were there!

A closeup:

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
Who would do such shoddy work on a coupe worth as much as they are now going for?

This car has been auctioned several times in the past, and discussed on the forum as late as last October. I beleive that RonP did the restoration. Strange because I'm an amateur and I wouldn't stick a piece of angle iron on the fender of my comparatively worthless 2800 CS. Hopefully the buyer decides to fix the outstanding issues and correct all the little things that people pick apart at this price point. If I had to guess, the buyer learns of the issues and unloads it on the next speculator that knows very little about these cars.

http://www.stanceworks.com/2013/06/1-of-110-ron-perrys-1974-series-1-bmw-e9-csl-batmobile/

http://www.e9coupe.com/forum/threads/csl-at-hymans.22354/#post-163638

Last edited:

'69 2800cs

Reaction score
Uggh....that Stanceworks article is so poor.

I AM glad the car received new upper control arms though...cause those are really important. That and "half shaft bearings".

RonP

Reaction score