$65k for a 1965 911 needing a full resto?

jmackro

Reaction score
Make that $70,000 as of Sunday morning.

The funny thing is that you know the total cost of putting this thing back on the road will be >>> the price of a cleaner, less rusted example.

kwyjibo

Site Donor
Reaction score
I am by no means an expert on this, but I have been watching the 911 market for a while. I have three hypotheses to explain this current auction...

First, the entire market is out of whack. Period. There have been some interesting ideas put forth on various forums, such as low confidence in the "traditional investments", mass-media attention,and etc to explain the increased interest in classic cars. I can say with all the confidence allowed by an anecdote that a combination of these factors recently led to my sister, who never thought of a car as anything but transportation, to ask about 1) the cars I have/had and their current and projected values and 2) if she should buy something to stash in the garage. When my sister is asking about something, its gone completely mainstream.

Second, the bidders in this auction need to do their homework or they know something the rest of us do not. The '65 model year holds a special place in 911 history: it is the first full production year. But, the first 232 are the real special ones (at least according to those that own the first 232). These include the car previously known as the "901", which was put to a quick end by some legal action by a particular French company, and the 911s made in 1964. The car in question is not one of these. However, if the selling values of 911s continue on their upward trajectory, the buyer/restorer of this particular car could make a reasonable amount of $$ when its done.