A different "need opinion"

maxxfish

Site Donor
Reaction score
I'm getting close to making a purchase on my first E9. A lot of you won't be happy with this, but I'm planning on a resto-mod of sorts. I found the perfect candidate; it's already quite modified, with a 5-speed, non-original interior, engine/mechanical upgrades, etc. The only problem: the seller isn't responding to my inquiries.

But I just found another (semi) local car. It's a '75 CS (Euro obviously), Auto, non-sunroof, Malaga over creme velour. It is TOTALLY stock, and never restored, but in great original condition. A bit of a time-capsule car, and looks rust free!

Is this car valuable, and too nice to modify? I'm new to the E9 game (but not to BMWs), are they like old American cars in that they're worth more with patina/unrestored than a perfectly showroom-new, sometimes over-restored car?

My other option is to buy the '75 and leave it alove (except for maybe a manual trans swap), and just enjoy it as-is. But I have a tendency to tinker...don't we all?!!!

Thanks, Max

dj_efk

Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the pack Are you in the UK or USA?

Modding an E9 is not as controversial as with some cars as long as it's done to what most people would agree to be a tasteful degree - Things like mechanical upgrades tend to be good, custom bodywork and interiors (although again it depends on the mods concerned) not so good.

Main thing is keep things reversible and keep the car rust proofed!!

x_atlas0

Reaction score
We are kinda seeing a trend in that the most original coupes fetch the highest prices in similar condition. That said, a completely original rustbox is not worth as much as a redone, but modded car in good condition.

I modded mine because the originality was already shot when I got it.

jmackro

Reaction score
maxxfish said: