Any Marathon Runners?

Antar

Site Donor $
Reaction score
D.C. (originally from Northern California)

vince

Site Donor
Reaction score
Congrats Antar, that is incredible!!!

I've been running for 42 years and have done 9 marathons. My personal best was the Rock n Roll Marathon in San Diego, at 3:11 which qualified me for Boston. I did Boston the next year but it was hot and windy (81 degrees at the start, 85 at the finish).

I haven't done a race for awhile but I'm still getting miles in. The year I turned 55, I challenged myself to run everyday that year (4 miles a day), somehow I made it with no injuries. Now, at 58 my body complains more but I still love to run. It's going to be a hard thing to give up.

Congrats again!!

BMW Pete

Site Donor
Reaction score
Totally unrelated to my love for E9’s. But I wanted to share this News report regarding my Tokyo Marathon Trip. If not allowed, please remove.

https://www.fox5dc.com/news/marylan...r-covid-delayed-his-plans#lf0oesu8g9rwx7m2hdm

It’s been a long wild journey to complete the 6 World Marathons. Which got me thinking do we have any other marathoners in our group?

Antar Johnson
Congratulations - that is a amazing achievement.

While I would never call myself a marathon runner, I did finish the London Marathon three times, with the first being 1983 and the last being 1996 - long time ago now.

Funnily, as a youngster I was a 100-200 meter schoolboy level runner, then in 1982 a friend gathered five entries to the London marathon for a children's charity and said " Pete, you were a runner, come and help the kids out".

From that day forward I started pounding the streets, thighs shrunk and knees and ankles gradually eroded, remember the shoes we ran in in those early days were not impact friendly :) But I ran everywhere, my first ever internet moniker done by a friend who showed me what to do in an internet cafe, was Forest Gump, he picked the name not me.