Any Runners on this Board?

vince

Site Donor
Reaction score
I've been running for 34 years. I started when I was 16 and really haven't stopped. To me, there is no better stress reliever. No matter how bad my day gets, a good run will completely change my mood.

In anticipation of turning 50, I challenged myself to run every day in 2015. It's weird goal but I thought, why not? With work travel and a spring break vacation back in March, it's been a little tough but, so far, i've made it a full 5 months. I'm averaging 30 miles a week.

Lots of stretching, good warm ups/downs are keeping me in this.

At least, this mid life crisis thing is inexpensive. My BMW habit cost us enough.

Last edited:

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
I used to run a lot and loved it. 3-4 days a week with a 15 mile Sat am run. I overdid it, and now I can't go a half mile without my IT band acting up. So my only advice is to reconsider upping the frequency and distance as you get older. I am 52. If I could I would do shorter runs (say 2-3 miles) 2-3 times a week with intense intervals (say 30 second sprint and 60 sec recovery jog), this works better than long slow distance, gets you in better shape with quicker heart recovery and less wear and tear. As you get older you'll break down eventually. My $.02.

Nicad

Site Donor
Reaction score
I run for planes when I am late and practice every 6 months seeing if I can still run across the street in case a bus is bearing down on me. To me, running equals torture. I do play badminton 3 times a week, go to Pilates about 3 times a week, ski race in the winters and walk the dog about 6 miles a day (according to my phone).
I do understand the stress release that running provides those who are devoted (or addicted ) to it. I would think you have the right body type and running style to do it long term. Hope you can run well into old age. I am hoping I go out in a Super G at 83 (that would be my 80th consecutive year on snow)

Last edited: