Best lift points to hold your E9 up in the air

eriknetherlands

Site Donor
Reaction score
I've seen this question come a few times over the past years so I though it could be helpful to others to gather our combined wisdom on this topic here.
I will be expanding this thread with pics and explanations during my coffee breaks and boring meetings, so it ain't finished yet.
Members may recognize their own pictures, as I've harvested from all over the forum.
I've lifted my coupe in a lot of different way during my own resto. Also I've seen quite some interesting things fly by over the forum.
Below is my combined knowledge which means it's just my take on things.
I invite others to share their findings so that this thread will improve itself + combine different views.
E3 inputs welcome; but i have no experience myself.

While working on your car, what is THE best location to lift your car?
It depends a bit on what you want to do with it (full resto or change a wheel), but there are a few things to follow, and a few things not to do.
You run the risk to damage yourself, or worse; your car.

Recommended: FRONT
Pic 1. Lift the car by the frame rails in the front, with a wooden plate/rubber block to spread the load + a t-shirt to protect your paint.
Pic 2. Another option is on left and right on the subframe (blue circles).
Pic 3. The BMW tech manual also allows lifting by the center of the subframe, but not for early models with subframes having flat, not corrugated) mid sections.

Recommended: REAR
For the rear also a few options:
(1) support under the rear subframe mounts; the large cylindrical rubber dampers.
(2) likewise, you can also lift the ends of the subframe as it is screwed directly to the rubber damper.
(3) The Tech manual also describes lifting by the differential, using a wooden block with a cutout for the oil drain plug.
(4). Under rear trailing arm as in the repair manual

Pics of lifting the FRONT:
1. Rubber pad under frame rails, with white T-shirt.