Boot-lid stay

Henrik

Reaction score
I assembled the boot-lid stay on the car today and got really surpriced when I did a test of the mechanism. On a CSi with a steel boot-lid it opens gently and stops in a position about 15-20 cm above the opening. When I opened the aluminum boot-lid it was almost "launched"with great force to a fully open position. The force provided by the torsion springs are obviously to strong for the light weight boot-lid. This force also give the boot-lid a new and unwanted curvature in closed position.
The car was dismantled when I bought it so I have no experience with how it worked originally.
Was the CSLś delivered with this solution or did it come with a support, like for the bonnet?
I haven't installed the trim panels or tool tray (which I do not intend to install) yet, but I think the weight of these parts isn't enough to counteract the springs.
After a lot of thinking an idea might be to bend the ends of the torsion springs to an angle that makes a softer opening.
Any thoughts about this, anyone?

Attachments

• IMG_1720.JPG
    IMG_1720.JPG
    196.7 KB · Views: 157
i have just done my boot lid and yes - without the tool tray and liner your lid will fly up and could damage i had to lock my boot lid until i put the tray in just in case some fool opened it up.
With the tool tray in ( mine is only 1/2 full) the lid pops up about 150mm and then stops.
The only option you have if you dont want to put the tools in is to de torsion the bars.....

Hello
You can change the force of the mechanism with the part in the red circle. Moving it back or forward changes the force. I also lengthened the 2 holes in this part to get the correct force for my heavy lid with the spoiler mounted.
There is no force from the torsion springs when closing the lid. The lid is falling the last 20 cm because of its own weight
Ulrich

DA278C6D-CB13-4247-951B-C0CADE76473A.jpeg

Last edited:
Good to hear that I'm not alone with this problem:(.