CAN bus theft

Arde

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
I was a lowly engineer when Robert Bosch folks came up to us at Intel with the CAN bus protocol, and we gave them some feedback as networking people...They told us that BMW would use it, but that Mercedes was so conservative that it would be decades before they are convinced that it works reliably, and adopt it. Mercedes adopted it, and now cars are being stolen through the CAN bus connector at the headlights...

Conservative is a person like me that brings 12V to headlights, but not a communications bus!
Smart bulbs? Give me a break.

I was a lowly engineer when Robert Bosch folks came up to us at Intel with the CAN bus protocol, and we gave them some feedback as networking people...They told us that BMW would use it, but that Mercedes was so conservative that it would be decades before they are convinced that it works reliably, and adopt it. Mercedes adopted it, and now cars are being stolen through the CAN bus connector at the headlights...

Conservative is a person like me that brings 12V to headlights, but not a communications bus!
Smart bulbs? Give me a break.
Oddly enough, one of the reasons we have smart bulbs and complex lighting assemblies is that lighting is one of the few areas where auto manufacturers have been able to hold off federal regulations. Auto makers argued (rightly in my view) that the feds left them with very few areas in which they could distinguish their designs, and the feds didn't really have a good counter argument.

Oddly enough, one of the reasons we have smart bulbs and complex lighting assemblies is that lighting is one of the few areas where auto manufacturers have been able to hold off federal regulations. Auto makers argued (rightly in my view) that the feds left them with very few areas in which they could distinguish their designs, and the feds didn't really have a good counter argument.
Interesting.