CSL insurance help

adami

Reaction score
Hi all, my name is Adam and I am new to the e9 boards but I am a life long BMW owner, racer and enthusiast. I have recently (finally) brought home my 1972 1st series CSL. Very clean car with 95 000 original km. Number 76 of the first 169.
I live in Vancouver BC where auto insurance is run by the Province(state) which has its pros and cons. Now that I have the collector plates on it I need to have meetings with them and prove what it is worth for insurance, they are notoriously fickle in their appraisals. If anyone should come across any recent sales or know of something that can help me with this it would be really appreciated.
I plan to apply for at least $100 000 replacement value if not more. I have printed a couple things bring a trailer and one from ebay motors. The 1st series beautiful Inka that sold some time ago is the best reference so far, and I know it went for over $100k but have no proof.
Thanks in advance, Adam

The pics is of the car in North Ontario I drove it back here to BC at start of the summer.

Attachments

• csl good trip ontjpg.jpg
    csl good trip ontjpg.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 185

glenn in encinitas

Site Donor
Reaction score
Due to the weak dollar, you'll want to check out European transactions. Search the archive over the past year for several leads. Most are "for sale" advertisements, but they can set the high mark.

Because there are relatively few transactions every year, you may need to go far and wide for comparables, then take into account the relative differences in the three series of CSLs and, obviously, condition.

Your photo was awesome. What a beautiful image. It's going into my computer!

coupeking

Reaction score
Csl

Adam-
Go to my web site and find the pix of Inka CSL 2211538. This car just sold again 10 days ago for $125K, after being purchased by that owner a year ago for $125K. Having brokered both deals, I can attest to that for you. It is the 35th of the 169 ultralites.