dropped spindles for a coupe

John Buchtenkirch

Reaction score
Does anyone have a pair of E3 or E9 struts that are rotted out (spring saddles or tubes) that they’d be willing to let go of for cheap. I’m playing with the idea of welding up some dropped spindles for my coupe but I need a second pair of struts to cut up and combine with the struts that came out of my Bavaria parts car. Before everyone panics I will just add that I’ve been welding for over 50 years and will certainly reinforce my weld with fish-plates.

I’m not even sure I can do it so even a strut for just one side would be great as long as it isn’t bent from a crash. Why would I even want to bother…… the lower control arms on my coupe are level right now (which I believe is optimal) so I wouldn’t want lower it any further with even shorter springs. Moving the spindle stub axles higher up on the strut would lower the car without changing the suspension geometry ;-). THANKS & Merry Xmas ~ John Buchtenkirch

Mike Goble

Reaction score
If you're welding up spindles onto old struts, why not some later ones that will accommodate larger brakes?

kasbatts

Site Donor
Reaction score
Hi John, another option is just do what I did and make up spacer blocks to go under the strut, (between the strut and the steering arm)
I had these milled up from Aluminium, and I just changed out the bottom bolts to longer high tensile cap screws
I will post a picture if you like?

Steve

kasbatts

Site Donor
Reaction score
These are what I had made

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1387853969.805240.jpg

John Buchtenkirch

Reaction score
Hi John, another option is just do what I did and make up spacer blocks to go under the strut, (between the strut and the steering arm)
I had these milled up from Aluminium, and I just changed out the bottom bolts to longer high tensile cap screws
I will post a picture if you like?

Steve