Expedited expert help needed with 2800 sunroof

Peter Coomaraswamy

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
I am a rocket scientist, brain surgeon and philosopher rolled into one, I am such an idiot! I pulled the sunroof in the 2800 to do the headliner (which only took 12 hours) and now I have to get the sunroof back in. I assumed it would be the same as the 3.0 I have sitting next to it but noooooooooooo. Can anyone walk me through with some pictures of how all these pieces go back together? and the sunroof slides in :-(

Pretty Please!

Peter Coomaraswamy

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
This is absolutely nuts! I am slowly figuring it out, the cables have lots of grease on them even after cleaning them off and I do not want the spooge on my nice white headliner (or "cream-colored" for you purists). I am still in need of help because I don't want to mess anything up but if I do get it together by me lonesome I will document it because this is quite a puzzle :)~ and if it works I'm going back to Medical School to become a neurosurgeon!

Peter Coomaraswamy

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Looks like I may be doing my own write up but this is a scary job with a new headliner and very little confidence. I still would appreciate any help available on the subject as it looks like there was quite a few variations of the rain trap installed over the years.

bluecoupe30!

Site Donor
Reaction score
I'm thinking if we all, collectively, think positive thoughts, Peter can perform the miracle sunroof install, (without the medical degree he wishes he has), and live to tell us all about it. So...everyone, on ...one ...two...3...best of luck Peter We know you can do it! Mike :)

eriknetherlands

Site Donor
Reaction score
I think i am secretly happy now that my car doesn't have a sunroof...
Go Peter!

(Perhaps we can donate to DeQ so that he can buy a nice E9 collection covering all options and variants; I'm quite confident that he'll then solve all ridles of e9 history... [emoji4])