Help, how to change old wishbones of front suspension

deQuincey

Quousque tandem...?
Site Donor
Reaction score
hi, i have discovered a big gap and metallic noise while moving my wheel (car on stands) up and down in vertical, no noise when moving left to right in horizontal

so, the wishbone ball joint is broken

it is my first time

any tricks, tips, ideas ?

my concern is the huge hexagonal bolt on the engine subframe, and the diagonal rod, and of course the ball joint itself

do i need to remove the spring stand ? the caliper ? i hope not ...

regards

this is the area

the wishbone is the piece that holds the antisway bar in its middle

this pictures are from the time i change the shocks, but i do not intend to go so far this time to change the wishbones if it is not absolutely necessary

this castle nut is not exactly clean, we will see,...

this is a wishbone

image1.jpeg

i recently did it on the blue coupe both sides .... no need to demount the strut/spring . The castle nut can be reached with a 19 mm angled wrench , not a socket. Just a bit difficult. Getting it loose is ofcourse the main task.... The new one goes alot better :)

The big bolts chassis and tie rod are no problem, just have a big wrench ! my impact wrench was also to weak...

i removed the ball joints with a V shaped rod and big hammer.... you may damage them , they are for the trash bin....

i recently did it on the blue coupe both sides .... no need to demount the strut/spring . The castle nut can be reached with a 19 mm angled wrench , not a socket. Just a bit difficult. Getting it loose is ofcourse the main task.... The new one goes alot better :)

The big bolts chassis and tie rod are no problem, just have a big wrench ! my impact wrench was also to weak...

i removed the ball joints with a V shaped rod and big hammer.... you may damage them , they are for the trash bin....

thank you barry
good tips on all the points