I'm no mechanic, but this can't be right

deQuincey

Quousque tandem...?
Site Donor
Reaction score
i dont really know

it seems that you have the return pipe without function, and the return tube in the deposit closed with a screw

relax, my car is running ok and has no trace of the second tube, I assume that someone "renewed" your installation back to an old version (mine is 1971)

in my case the fuel pump is mechanical, i have seen a detail of the forth and return system in the walloth diagrams, refer to them to understand what might have happened, and look for the changed parts

or, better, let a real expert here explain what might have happened, ;-)

but, if your car runs, and you do not have fuel in the trunk comming from the cut tube, no problem

regards

deQuincey

Quousque tandem...?
Site Donor
Reaction score
SURPRISED !

and what is the function of the open ended tube that comes from the engine area ?

i may understand a fuel return system i.e. when the fuel pressure is too high for the engine fuel demand

isn´t that the purpose ?

regards, and thanks for the explanation

Bill Riblett

(deceased)
Reaction score
The other end of the capped hose should go to the gray plastic tank forward of the fuel filler door. It is part of the US emissions controls for fuel emissions. Maybe the loose hose end in the picture should connect here?

The rest-of-the-world cars just vent the fumes out the bottom of the trunk floor.

deQuincey

Quousque tandem...?
Site Donor
Reaction score
The other end of the capped hose should go to the gray plastic tank forward of the fuel filler door. It is part of the US emissions controls for fuel emissions. Maybe the loose hose end in the picture should connect here?

The rest-of-the-world cars just vent the fumes out the bottom of the trunk floor.

you will take the advantage of greener trees, I guess :-D

OCCoupe

Site Donor
Reaction score