Let the Madness Begin

<50miles

Reaction score
Hello All,

It has been more than 20 years since I bought my car, and as of yesterday, the car is finally at the body shop being completely dissembled for a bare metal rebuild. First email I received from the bodyshop informed me that they had removed the back seats and found the 'first' mouse nest.

Anyway, now that the body work is underway, I have question for the community. Given that I have finally decided to keep the car mostly original, I wanted to know what period correct upgrades I can make to the engine. Please keep in mind that I am keeping it Automatic. I was thinking of stroking the engine to 3.5 litres and slightly increasing the compression. The mechanic said that the transmission can take up to 250 horsepower/torque.

Any advice is appreciated.

Andrew

I love my Schrick 284 cam that SFDon recommended. Not sure if the automatic would take advantage of it though, others here would know.

Hi Andrew,

I am no expert but I have been researching similar content for my 2.8 motor as of late. From what I gather, there aren't a lot of options for stroking the 3.0 motor with a factory crankshaft. BMW changed the M30 at around 1976 to accommodate a crankshaft with a longer stroke. The block has reliefs cast into the sides to accommodate the longer throw. The blocks have visible bulges toward the bottom.

Now you can still stroke it a little bit with machine shop trickery or a custom crank. If you get a later block your options increase but the long stroke cranks are generally rare (E3 88.4mm stroke) or expensive (s38B38 90mm stroke).

An option that I may pursue if my oem motor ever gives me trouble is to swap the long block and keep the original short block in storage.

That's all that I have researched so far. I haven't turned a single nut on an M30 internal component yet.

Hello Everybody,