mallory distributor & Stahl Header Question...

bimmerboy73

Reaction score
folks. input is welcomed. i'm considering replacing my old questionable point/vac advance distributor with the mallory 45 series mechanical advance unit and was wondering if anyone here had experience with it. I've been told that its the distributor of choice for those running triple webers without the vac line. In the description it states that it connects to an electronic ignition control unit... so i'm assuming that this would have to be purchased with the ditributor?? or can it be run without like a pertronics unit. Forgive the ignorance. This is my first time through the ignition / timing chute and i want to be sure i'm doing it right.

http://www2.partstrain.com/store/de...utor/1973/Base/6_Cyl_3-dot-0L/M114567201.html

Thanks in advance!

Richard

gpetrus

Reaction score
edit: I reread your post, and see you are using triple Webers not FI, sorry

jmackro

Reaction score
I don't remember any discussions of a Mallory distributor here on the E9 Board - your posting is the first that I've heard of it (not that I'm any sort of an expert). My advice would be to contact Mallory tech support to be SURE of what you are getting, before shelling out $446.66. Don't bother calling "partstrain.com" - they probably just forward the order to Mallory for drop shipping - call Mallory directly.

bimmerboy73

Reaction score
misspoke there re mallory being the choice distributor. was talking generally about mechanical advance versus vac advance when using triple webers. Problem is that Mallory seems to be the only company left that makes a centrifugal advance dizzy for our cars. The only other option would be to buy a stock dizzy and have it modified but i'm not sure what all is involved in doing that (specifically... i understand the concept but am not sure how time intensive or $$$ it is... or who locally might be able to do it).