OTOTOTO

OTOTOTO

Site Donor
Reaction score
I've been an E9 owner about a week now and happy to join this group for some help and community.
This is my second BMW, first being the e28 pictured below. I've had that about 2 years and did alot of restomod work to it. (airbag suspension, full interior, audio, details) (BMW_OTOTOTO in instagram for more pictures if you're interested)

The E9 is expect to stay more on the stock side because its a work of art on its own, however I do plan to do something special with the interior. More to come. I do expect a full strip and repaint but probably after a few years after I've had fun driving it a bit in its petina phase. For now, low hanging fruit, rust mitigation, maintenance, and fun parts.
I've been an automotive designer about 10 years plus another 6 with aerospace design, making spacetravel as cool as driving. :) Most of my career has been dedicated to interiors so definitely looking forward to this personal project.

OK Pretty pictures:

qrdUUYn.jpg

dhwe9lp.jpg

ghKmny8.jpg

IAuNlOD.jpg

I spent this weekend checking hidden areas for rust and its about what I expected. Mostly small bits of surface rust. There is a patch behind the front fender that needs attention and a bit under the floorpans and trunk. Under the seats/carpets look really good. Interior is better than I expected, should be salvageable (although I'm leaning towards a non-blue interior, sorry). Engine is in good shape, kind of dirty at the bottom but not leaking. Heads were recently done as well as trans synchro's, dual webers, otherwise stock, looks like it was maintained well. Engine definitely feels smooth and low miles. Much more to come but I'll move my notes to a build page. Overall I'm super excited to finally have a Polaris silver 3.0 in my garage!

My dumb questions/mild annoyances so far:

I have a security nut on the wheel but missing key. Removal strategy needed.