Pertronix and Hello

gwittman

Reaction score
First, I would like to introduce myself. I am new to this forum but have been around Coupes for a long time. I purchased my current Coupe in Jan. 1980 and had a 2000 CS before that. I am sure I have met a few of you guys here over the years and I do know Murray(blumax). That does not make me particularly knowledgeable regarding the E9 Coupe, it just make me an enthusiast.

Now to the Pertronix. I recently installed one and like the set up but have a couple questions. I noticed the square grommet for the wires interferes with the vacuum advance plate. Is that normal? I cut a portion of the rubber off to clear the advance plate. Did I make a mistake by doing that?

I checked the dwell after installing the Pertronix and it is out of spec realtive to what it should be with points. Is this normal and something I should not be concerned about?

I have been doing my tuneups for many years and have always tuned it a little advanced (@ about 1650 rpm). This time I decided to time it at 1700 rpm as the manual states and now it does not seem to pull as hard at higher rpm like it use to. Does changing the timing that little make that much difference?

Honolulu

Reaction score
Does changing the timing that little make that much difference?[/quote]

Well why not time it at factory spec and see? You may have "adjusted" something else during the Pertronix install - setting it to factory might tell you.

gwittman

Reaction score
Honolulu, I did set the basic timing at factory spec this time as opposed to being slightly advanced as I have in the past. The car runs very well now but does not seem to accelerate as fast once it gets above around 5,000 rpm. I think what I will do is leave it as is for a while to get a chance to be more familiar with the way it runs. Then in a couple weeks; I will set the timing a little more advanced, like use to, and see if the high rpm performance improves.