What engine fits in an E9 engine bay?

germanbodyman

Reaction score
Hi all
What are my options on putting a different BMW engine in an E9 other than the usual M30? Is it possible to use the V8 engine from an E39 5 series with the 6 speed or automatic tranny in it? I know this would involve a lot of work making everything fit and function. Regarding the suspension I would go with something more modern, possible a E36 or E46 or even E39 suspension. Don 't worry to much about the fabrication part, I work in the high end collision industry for almost 20 years, so I know what I will be doing.
I am just wondering if anybody ever seen, heard or actually did a diffent engine swap on an E9.Any advise is appreciated

Martin

bert35csi

Site Donor
Reaction score
There was a guy in Germany who installed the E39 M5 V8 drivetrain and suspension components into an E24 recently. Looked like a factory installation. It was featured in a magazine article in the past few months, though I cannot quite remember the name of the magazine. Try googling it.

Bert
72 3.5 CSi
88 M6

chicane

Reaction score
germanbodyman said:
Hi all
What are my options on putting a different BMW engine in an E9 other than the usual M30? Is it possible to use the V8 engine from an E39 5 series with the 6 speed or automatic tranny in it? I know this would involve a lot of work making everything fit and function. Regarding the suspension I would go with something more modern, possible a E36 or E46 or even E39 suspension. Don 't worry to much about the fabrication part, I work in the high end collision industry for almost 20 years, so I know what I will be doing.
I am just wondering if anybody ever seen, heard or actually did a diffent engine swap on an E9.Any advise is appreciated

Martin

Are you kidding me? Yeah that's what you want to do is put a monster 8 in a 40 year old chassis. The chassis flex would eventually destroy the body of your E9.

x_atlas0

Reaction score