Zenith - to rebuild myself or not rebuild?

AndyP

Reaction score
Folks - I've been through all the Zenith and carb threads and am ready to jump in, but need someone to tell me that it won't hurt. In a nutshell - I need to rebuild my carbs and I want to stick with Zeniths. I was about to pull the trigger on Royce (per Blumax recommendation), but they either seem to have gone out of business, or don't answer their phones EVER. Now I am tempted to do this myself. I am not mechanically challenged, but at the same time, I am not a mechanic and definitely no carb expert.

So what do you think? Can I screw things up if I follow instructions? Or should I just have one of the glorious shops in the Bay Area do this for me? Thanks for anyone's 2 cents.

(It's a '74 CS from Munich.)

Last edited:

61porsche

Reaction score
You can do it.

Andy,

It won't hurt. Follow the manual, work one at a time. Do check all the adjustments and assume someone else might not have done so.

Jerry
61Porsche

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Andy I am with you, I just ordered my large rebuild kits from Mesa, they are good folks there (they also have the best prices on hoses and gaskets) and I will be starting the rebuilds this weekend. Have you found any Zenith-specific instructions on them and what to look out for? Feel free to contact me, I could use the help and misery loves company. I also want to keep my original carbs. I took off the intake manifolds to clean them up and am replacing all the hoses (from radiator to the little ones from the chokes while there. I cleaned the engine block and will be replacing the starter, as this will be the easiest it will ever be to access it, even still with all this stuff off it was still a pita to remove I cant imagine doing it with carbs/manifolds in place and I never want to have to take this stuff apart a second time.