Markos the Admin

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

As you may know I have been serving as a backup administrator for Dan for the past 12 months or so. Here are the things I can see/do:

Here is what I can do/see:

1. I can move posts
2. I can hide posts
3. I can edit all posts including yours
4. I can delete posts
5. I can see the history of your edited posts

Here is what I can't see:

1. I can't see or read your PM's (I don't want to either)
2. I can't reset your password
3. I can't validate new accounts

Here is what I actually do:

1. I move threads - mostly to OT or pictures/videos
2. I delete "delete me" threads
3. I occasionally edit broken quotes/links/etc and things, mainly for folks that are less forum/tech savvy.​

Here is what else I am doing:

1. While it is slow-going, I am working with Dan to get the registry up and running. So far I have loaded all of the historical records into a new database platform with a new front-end. We ran into a snag with new user registration, but we have a handle on the proposed fix. Both Dan and I full time day jobs and families, so we work on this when we can. I anticipate that the new site will be online in Q1 2019.

At least one or two members are under the impression that I am reading PM's and possibly abusing my admin privileges. While I have assured folks that this is not the case, I encourage anyone to reach out to me personally or publicly if you have concerns about my volunteering to admin this site. I have thick skin, and welcome direct feedback.

Thanks!

m5bb

Site Donor $
Reaction score
Thanks Markos,
Hmmm now I know why moving that thread was .....................
One thing for me lately has been that I don't get every repost to a post I made. I get some but not all. I think it's cyberspace voodoo's.
Thanks for your volunteerism.
Gary

autokunst

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Is that what you guys do??? JUST KIDDING!