Carburetor swap weber 38

E3AV

Reaction score
Hi!
My E3 2800 currently has a solex 4A1 4-barrel carburetor setup installed by some previous owner.
I’m no carb expert but my plan is to convert back to a dual carburetor setup using Webers. Giving the engine bay a more stock appearance with the original air filter housing in place.
I have started sourcing parts and so far only got the intake manifolds. Got a very good deal on a pair of used weber 38DGES carbs and they are on the way.
Also ordered new air filter housing adapters.

I have seen in 02 forums that it is beneficial or even nessesary to modify the opening in the intake manifolds when installing 38’s.
Does this apply to the m30 manifolds as well?
The 2 holes in the manifolds have different sizes 40 and 36mm.
Will this affect tuning the carburetors in any way? Restrict air flow or making som turbulence?
I have no problem with making the holes the same size or even making one large oval hole if its any point in doing so.
I know there are spacer gaskets available. Will these rectify any issues?

Finally, any suggestions for a starting point regarding jetting?
The Weber seller was unsure of the current setup.

Done lots of 2002's and always cut the manifold opening to one hole matching the gasket. Much better flow. double check the cooling chamber gasket on the bottom side of the manifold as well as a plug to that chamber inside the manifold for any signs of leakage

I have an original air cleaner housing that I have restored that would look great with your carbs for sale. PM me for more info.

Thanks, Rick

m

Ok. Then i will grab my die grinder and get to work.
Oh.. yes forgot. I also have the air filter housing almost ready. Sandblasted and epoxy primed ready for paint. Black or gray.

Yes you'll have to match those holes because 38's aren't progressive. Depending on the previous use of the carbs, you may be in for some jetting changes too.