E-brake wont disengage.

ggus

Reaction score
HI guys,

It's been a while since I have posted on here. I am returning from a very long military deployment. Anyways, My E9 has been sitting in my garage the past 7 months and a few days ago I went to start her up. I was worried she wasn't going to start up but after a few turns she came right to life! I left her running for a few minutes and waited for the revs to come down and they did. But when I released the E-break the brakes did not disengage, the e-brake handle goes up and down but the rear brakes do not disengage. I thought if this is all that broke after sitting for almost 7 months not bad!

So, where or how do I check if my E-brake is disengaging properly? and if it is what do I check with the brakes?

Note: I am not a mechanic. I can do some work if I have the tools.

Pittraider18

Reaction score
Did you try to pull forward at all? It could very well be that there is some rust built up and the pads are just seized to the rotors. May need to give it some forward drive to break them free followed by a couple of hard braking to clear the rotors/pads up of any buildup.

Pittraider18

Reaction score
Yes, I tried to back out of my garage but the rear brakes were engaged.
If you have the ability to get the rear of the car in the air, I'd start with getting the calipers/rotors off and checking to see if there are any broken springs or maybe a seized wheel cylinder for the drum parking brake assembly. Does the parking brake handle feel like it has any tension/resistance when pulling it up?

Drew Gregg

Site Donor
Reaction score
Once you have the E-brake problem resolved, I suggest that you keep the car from rolling by putting it in 1st gear or "P" if it's an automatic. The E-brake doesn't need to be used, unless it actually is an "E" for Emergency.

jefflit

Site Donor $
Reaction score