help with a new paint scheme

bimmerboy73

Reaction score
so, after a year of hemming and hawing over colors, assembling equipment and prepping the space, i'm ready to paint the coupe. I've settled on space grey, a bmw color but not a period correct one. I'm not concerned with maintaining the factory specs as the car already had the 3.5l and 5 spd transplant when i bought it and since then, i've added recaros and e24 rear seats, lowering springs, new *modern* stereo system, etc. With that in mind, i'm contemplating taking a step further away from the stock look and properly shadow lining the exterior chrome trim. I know this isnt a period correct mod and wont sit well with the purist crowd but i consider myself a person with decent taste and an eye for design ( i am a designer by trade ) and would only do it if 1) it was done expertly and 2) it was done in a way that didnt detract from or bastardize the natural beauty and spirit of the design. The blacked out or shadowline trim option was one that was available from BMW in the 80s on the e28 and i believe, e21 and e24 models so the idea of the chrome delete on a car that was originally designed with it is not unprecedented. I'm confident the beltline and tail light trim will look fine in black. its the window surrounds and sills that i'm not 100% sure about. I would also add the black CSL rear bumper and remove the front bumper entirely ( i have both an alpina air dam as well as a 635 style air dam and will mount one or the other... not sure which yet).

So, to that end, i'm looking for an example (a photo) of any car that has had this treatment done before. I remember there being a coupe that sold on ebay a few years back that was shawdowlined. It wasnt the best example as i believe it had a few other mods (rear spoiler, fender flares and interior butchering) that looked a bit out of place on the coupe but the blacked out chrome looked pretty decent, IMO.