Howdy from Texas!

RRussellTx

Reaction score
Hi from Texas,

I’m just a guy that likes to work on projects. I’m not terribly skilled but I try to make up for that with patience and perseverance (key word is try). I’m currently building a Factory Five Replica of a 1965 Cobra. I had been driving the car for a couple of years before starting the painting process a few months ago. Dad owned a body shop in the 70's so he's helping me learn that part along the way. Check out my poorly maintained build thread here:
https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/sho...iversary-MK4-Build-Thread-10-of-20-8697/page4

This is the package I started with:
https://www.factoryfive.com/whats-new/day-19-of-20-20th-anniversary-mk4-roadster-revealed/

The reason I’m here is to do some research for what may become my next project. My dad bought a couple of 2800CS’s back in the late 80’s/early 90’s. They were definitely both Project Cars but they each had what the other one didn’t. Since then, they have been sitting in his garage collecting dust. He is beginning to realize that he is past the age where it sounds like fun to do anything with them so I’m trying to help.

Although the project sounds like it would be fun, I’m skeptical about the feasibility of actually pulling it off. I’m here looking for threads of others that have tackled their own bodywork or restorations. Looking for how hard it is to find parts that might be needed. Also looking to find out if any of the spare parts left over would be worth anything to help fund the effort. Any links or words of encouragement/discouragement would also be appreciated.

Both cars are tan on tan.

1970 2800CS – 2280236
bought in 1989 from a little old couple in New York – 46,000miles
Bad rust on most of the car
New front clip on the car with no rust from previous repair
Good motor – 46,000 miles
Automatic
Very good interior when it was put away 30 years ago.

1971 2800CS - 2270275
Texas car for at least the 80's - bought in the mid 90's
No rust