mercedes pagoda 230SL

deQuincey

Quousque tandem...?
Site Donor
Reaction score
would anyone here consider a mercedes pagoda w113 from 1967 ?

i found an excellent car for sale, runing and very good condition, not concourse, but tye price is tempting, 30.000 euro !

a german car imported in spain in the 70-ties, automatic gearbox, mechanical injection bosch, white with tan interior, all trim bits in perfect condition, apparently no rust over no rust under,

a running engine well kept by tye owner (he runs a mercedes service for vans and trucks)

it is a gem ! and i am not an expert but price seems good

ideas ?

Arde

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
HBChris knows the pagodas he can opine. I love the shape and once tried to buy one but it was too neglected. I realized the owner had money when he got it but he probably went to jail and the woman neglected it badly. Another reason to be honest or at least find a woman that cares for your cars until you are out...

ccr2002

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Pagoda

Buy it. I just bought the 280sl. Always loved the shape. They don't drive as nicely as our coupes but it's a convertible! They are classy. 30k seems below market by a lot if it's as clean as advertised. Lucky man

Ohmess

I wanna DRIVE!
Site Donor $
Reaction score
I think that car is really beautiful, and if I had not found an e9, that car was high on my list.

HB Chris

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
deQ,

I had my 230SL for eight years and only sold it to buy my coupe, it's a great car. I think the 230 is better looking than the 280 as it has more chrome instead of satin trim, no headrests, no side markers in the US market and usually here no big bumper guards, fog lights in the headlight covers instead of big orange turn signal lenses, removable radio panel in the dash later cars are all one piece, all red tail lights, hub caps with trim rings instead of one piece sedan hub caps IMO.