sunroof cable/tube lubricant?

PaulinPa

Reaction score
Time to put new cables back in but want them to slide smooothly for a long time,so what to use to ease their journey?Thought maybe spraying inside of tubes with white lithium grease?Or maybe spray silicone?Suggestions??

TILLA

Site Donor
Reaction score
I have no personal experience with sunroofs but many years ago I worked in an import dealership where we had a multitude of sunroof issues with Audis. The factory directed the techs to use a silicone spray, I'm sorry that I don't remember the name, but it was primarily used as a release agent for plastic molds and was FDA approved. I wouldn't use lithium grease as it would attract dirt and gum up.

Hope that helps,

Mark

blumax

(deceased)
Reaction score
sunroof lubrication

Suggest contacting Lee Muntean, owner of the local convertible top and sunroof specialty shop here in Costa Mesa. Trained from childhood by his Father, Lee is an exceptionally talented technician. He has recently overhauled a sunroof for a 2002tii, replaced the sunroof seal and corrected a faulty driver seat frame and mechanism on the BLUMAX for me--all to my satisfaction. I have referred several local people and each has been complimentary of his workmanship. Many local Porsche, MBZ, BMW, Jaguar and other high end automotive mechanical shops refer their customers to Lee.

Call him @ 949-515-1525

BonitaCS

Reaction score
I used the lithium grease and with their location I don't think they will get too much dirt in them but time will tell. I also replace the phenolic bits with a 10 mil PSA backed Teflon. It slides real nice now!

PaulinPa

Reaction score
Thanks for the referal to Lee.Extremely helpful.Light coating of lithium grease on cable itself.Clean aluminum channels and roof body.Check the phenolic pads and replace with teflon.Open up gearbox and sand "clutch" surfaces.Now if it'll just stop raining long enough to do this stuff.

blumax

(deceased)
Reaction score