‘71 2800 CSA Build thread

A12pilot

Site Donor
Reaction score
Greetings Gang!

After my welcome post, I thought I’d start another post about the build so over time I have a thread going with good Q&As to reference. Anyway, here’s my car:

1971 2800 CSA #520 which appears to be the 6th from the last one built (#526) for US in Automatic form. It’s PS, PB, full power windows, AC, AM/FM rear defroster. Baikal Blue, tan leather interior. Parked in 1987 due to a blown head gasket, and minimal rot (luckily). Original engine and transmission and all numbers match up on the body.

What’s the plans? Don’t really know just yet. I’m going to pull the head off and see what the deal is as far as the rest of the motor. I’d love a later model swap, but then again, would love to keep this like it is and maybe just add FAST EFI or something. Time to decide since I need to research all the parts and such for these as it’s something I am just getting into. Looks to be a fun one though and I’m excited to learn more.

Cheers
Dave
7A9DC329-CDCD-43D0-B9BE-ABCBAAB77174.jpeg

5BC7693B-6792-45C3-8685-C04C53B36A25.jpeg

A3488A15-31A3-42BA-BA32-F75F74D73A4F.jpeg

A12pilot

Site Donor
Reaction score
A few more showing the numbers…
C9575263-5C92-4CD4-9710-84000B4119B0.jpeg

E8FA86D2-0FE1-4E3B-9FEE-00D55706D64C.jpeg

Cylinder head number and date

95665F52-8724-4DFA-9005-A3B299B1B4CD.jpeg

62DD0CF5-E79A-49A5-8233-2E25A996B7E3.jpeg

…and the internal mess!

928B7399-6DD0-4B0B-B92D-3A6AF0B9D7DD.jpeg

So that begs the question if the head can even be rebuilt. Do I even want to? I’ll pull it just to see the cylinders.

cheers
dave

HB Chris

Site Donor $$
Reaction score