3.5l transplant from a 1989 E34

cs1971

Reaction score
Hi to All,
I am just getting back from a long vacation. I put my 2800cs away when I had my first son.(Make no mistake I still call my CS , MY FIRST BORN). Now 14 years later I decided to bring it out again and so much has changed. I have been browsing this site for 4 months and decided to join a group of great enthusiast. When I first started, it was just a couple of locals: Maximillian in his basement with Paul, Terry and Neil of Rockville,MD and Korman Auto. I am sorry, just took a trip down memory lane. Let me get to my interest. I just purchased a 1989 E34 and would like to install it in my coupe. I want to get away from the carb set up and go FI. So I am in need of links, articles, advice etc. from start to finish to complete this project. Oh Yeah, I want the pleasure of doing it myself. I would like to make this transplant simple as possible. THANKS

Here's what I had in mind, let me know what you all think.

1. swap oil pump and pan
2. swap motor mounts
3. relocate battery to rear
4. extend the brake booster where the battery seats( I removed the brake booster and linkages from a 540 that mounts up front. Not sure how this is going to work yet but it's an idea. I search low and high for the Tii booster, no luck).
5.mount cpu in glove box
6. wiring I have no clue
7. need to find 3 piece trans.

Mario L.

Reaction score
This transplant is fairly straight forward. An excellent opportnity to upgrade a CS Coupe.

You'll need adapter plates for that engine as motor mounts on the block are in a different location. These are available from Koala Motorsport www.koalamotorsport.com

This engine has it's pulse generator on the crankhub, not on the flywheel. I have several transmissions & bellhousing that fit this application, and we can set you up with any parts new and used that you might need.