advice please

steve in reno

Reaction score
If it is like my recently acquired 1985 635 csi.
Lots of power, easy to get parts for, nice comfortable ride....those are the pros
The biggest con I can see is the complete vehicle is electric. Elect seats are a pain to repair, gauges in a 30+ yr car are always ????. And elect parts are expensive and difficult to work on.
If you purchase, get a Bentley manual. Which is what I have to use for my 635csi as the systems are near identical

RMP

Site Donor $
Reaction score
Wealth of information, parts and all on MYE28.com; I use that for the M5.

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
I'm a fan but no expert. Lots of e28 owners on here. OCCoupe had a gorgeous bronzit with euro goodies. I think waynsie recently sold his on here. A few M5 owners are present as well.

An e28 was my first choice before stumbling upon an e9. My plan was to get an '88 528e Super ETA because the wiring is very compatible with an M30B35. All of this is knowledge that I learned by studying mye28 while hunting for cars. Seattle is swimming with e28's. I quite like alpine white on Cardinal. Given your affinity for cheap cars this type of mod might be right up your alley. You are a set of seats, spoiler, and valance away from the IS look.

The M30B34 isn't everyone's favorite low compression motor but it apparently gets the job done.

sfdon

Site Donor
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
One of the worst ...
All show no go

180 hp low compression US engine with grandma cam with a ridiculous 3.25 diff.

Another joke played on Americans.

bavbob

Site Donor
Reaction score